Landscaping for birds? Here’s what I do.


Some folks have stumbled on this post from a couple of years ago, so I’ve updated a bit.

The Waterthrush Blog

A colleague recently asked me for advice on an educational program about landscaping for birds in suburban backyards. While I have some opinions on that, and of course I’m going to share them, there are some excellent resources folks can access with better information than I can provide. In just a few clicks of the mouse I found summaries from Mass Audubon and the Cornell Lab of Ornithology that would certainly be great places to start.

For my part, I’ll offer here some advice that has worked for me down through the years, and allowed me to compile a list of at least 75 different species of birds using our little urban backyard. I consider these the 5 basic tenets of attracting birds to your yard:

Tufted Titmouse, a happy customer in our yard. Tufted Titmouse, a happy customer in our yard. The hand that holds him is happier still!

But first! Recognize that birds don’t need us…

View original post 1,085 more words

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

